Orange City Hospital & Research Institute is a hospital which is continually improving the health care delivery system. As a part of its continual improvement initiatives recently a “NABH orientation workshop” for the specialists was organized at Orange City Hospital & Research Institute- Nagpur. National Accreditation Board for Hospitals & Healthcare Providers (NABH) is a constituent board of Quality Council of India, set up to establish and operate accreditation program for healthcare organizations.

At the outset, Dr. Vidya Nair, Director (Accreditations & Grants) – Ravi Nair Hospitals Private Limited, welcomed gathering and gave a brief outline of the NABH workshop. She also emphasized on the importance of knowing about Grading, Rating, Accreditation, Certification and Evaluation of Hospitals & Healthcare Delivery systems.

The workshop began with a session on the introduction to the healthcare sector regarding the key issues and possible solutions which was delivered by Shri. Isaac Sinha, Quality Consultant-OCHRI. He stressed on the necessity of teamwork and leadership in a hospital and also spoke of how important “value of money” in healthcare industry is, so that patient care attains a satisfactory level.

Dr. Anup Marar, Director (Administration)-OCHRI & NABH assessor explained about the need and importance of NABH standards for hospitals. The four basic criteria for NABH towards a hospital are quality, safety, ethics and legal perspectives. He also explained about the standard “P’s” I.e process, plan, procedure, protocol, program and policy which form a part of any system.

Dr. Usha Nair, Dr.Milind Pande, Dr. Darshan Rewanwar, Dr.Sameer Jahagirdar, Dr. Smita Harkare, Dr.Anita Pande, Dr. Neeta Deshpande, Dr.Bindu Marar, Dr. Nishikant Lokhande, Dr.Sanil Koyili, Dr.Sameer Choudhary, Dr.Ashish Disawal, Dr. Naziya Khan, Dr. Sudhir Mahajan, Dr.Ninad Gawande, Dr.Abhay Agashe, Dr. Ashish Thool, Dr.Ashwini Tayde, Dr. Mohan Shendre, Dr. Tushar Bhure, Dr. Akash Saoji, Dr. Ashish Shukla, Dr.Sweety Pasari, Dr. Ganesh Bure, Dr. Santosh Gadge, Dr. Rani Lakhe and Dr. Roshan Jawdekar were prominently present. The session concluded with a brief Q&A session.

Dr.Noorul Ameen, Dr.Deepak Dongre, Shri.Sunil Sure, Shri.Roy Thomas & Shri.Ganesh Iyer worked hard for this initiative.